#Mixing Essentials (2) 🎛 | Equalizer (EQ)

While volume/amplitude is often shown on a vertical scale, the usual displays and diagrams show the sound spectrum from bass to treble on a horizontal scale. The most important instrument for intervening in mixing and mastering at this level is the equalizer, or EQ for short. In different fine divisions (besides lows, mids and highs still low or high mids etc.) mostly stepless curves are used today.

Here are three tutorials to get you started – by Martin Wolfinger, delamartv and Jonas Wagner from the Recording Blog.

Like levels and compressors and limiters for volume, this balances the interaction of multiple tracks on the scale of frequencies so that not too many signals compete with each other in the same range.

This balancing also includes rather local and sometimes somewhat extreme reductions of frequency ranges – where they lead to particularly noticeable disturbances. It is dull sound qualities that are created in this way in the overall picture and can be prevented with the EQ. For this purpose, individual tracks or the entire mix are scanned for such disturbing frequency ranges with the EQ – one makes particularly loud on a trial basis, which is then lowered in its amplitude at this point on the horizontal.

Philipp Ernst from abmischenlernen explains it:

To recognize this better in the interaction of the tracks, today additionally advanced plugins help, which mark the competing places in the frequency band by simultaneous comparison of tracks and corresponding visualization. The Anglo-Saxons call this problem “masking”, as explained here by Plugin Boutique using the example of the plugin “Neutron 3” by iZotope:

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

#Mixing-Essentials (2) 🎛 | Equalizer (EQ)

WÀhrend LautstÀrke/Amplitude gerne auf einer senkrechten Skala dargestellt wird, stellen die gebrÀuchlichen Displays und Diagramme das Ton-Spektrum von BÀssen bis Höhen in der Waagerechten dar. Das wichtigste Instrument, um in Mixing und Mastering auf dieser Ebene einzugreifen, ist der Equalizer, kurz: EQ. In unterschiedlich feinen Aufteilungen (neben Tiefen, Mitten und Höhen noch tiefe oder hohe Mitten etc.) werden heute meist stufenlose Kurven verwendet.

Hier drei Tutorials fĂŒr den Einstieg ins Thema – von Martin Wolfinger, delamartv und Jonas Wagner vom Recording-Blog.

Wie Pegel und Kompressoren sowie Limiter fĂŒr die LautstĂ€rke, wird das Zusammenspiel mehrerer Spuren hierdurch auf der Skala der Frequenzen ausbalanciert, sodass nicht zuviele Signale im selben Bereich miteinander konkurrieren.

Zu dieser Ausbalancierung gehören auch eher lokale und teilweise etwas extremere Absenkungen von Frequenzbereichen – da, wo sie zu besonders deutlichen Störungen fĂŒhren. Es sind dumpfe KlangqualitĂ€ten, die so im Gesamtbild entstehen und mit dem EQ verhindert werden können. Dazu werden einzelne Spuren oder der gesamte Mix auf solche störenden Frequenzbereiche mit dem EQ durchsucht – man macht probeweise besonders laut, was dann in seiner Amplitude an dieser Stelle auf der Waagerechten abgesenkt wird.

Philipp Ernst
von abmischenlernen erklÀrt es:

Dies im Zusammenspiel der Spuren besser zu erkennen, helfen heute zusĂ€tzlich avancierte Plugins, die durch simultanen Vergleich von Spuren und entsprechender Visualisierung die konkurrierenden Stellen im Frequenzband markieren. Die Angelsachsen nennen das Problem „Masking“, wie hier erklĂ€rt von Plugin Boutique am Beispiel des Plugins „Neutron 3“ von iZotope:

Du magst vielleicht auch

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.